Power Food: Kale

I have a new love that is green and full of life. No, it’s not Kermit the Frog. It’s kale. Let’s put aside the fact that this nutritiously dense food is full of antioxidants that fight cancer and talk about the real reason that kale has become my new obsession. I am a quick results driven girl and I eat kale because it keeps me in my skinny jeans. How? Well, one cup of kale only has 35 calories and 5 grams of fiber which means you stay fuller off of less. Also, this wonderful leafy green is thicker than traditional varieties like iceberg or spinach so it takes longer to chew and makes me feel fuller afterward. I have begun to incorporate kale salads and juices (check out yesterday’s juice recipe) into my diet on a regular basis and have seen great results. So, here is a basic kale salad recipe for you to try.

Simply Kale Salad

1 bunch kale, chopped/torn

1 handful dried fuit like cherries or sliced apricots

1/2 handful chopped nuts like almonds, sunflowers or pepitas

Drizzle champagne vinaigrette

* Get creative and add cooked beets, edamame, bell peppers or whatever else is in your fridge. Enjoy!

Leave a comment