Gratitude

It’s the calm before the Turkey Day storm. My dad is stirring up some creation in the kitchen while my other assists. They have an even flow with one another that can only happen when you have been with that person most your life. It’s unusally calm. Generally, once I walk in the door, I am immediately assigned a list of things to do or help out with. I don’t mind, it’s Thanksgiving afterall. However, today seems to have a more laid back approach and unlike most, we are just getting started prepping dinner while most families have already sat down. I am greatful for this time to relax and also for our family holidays. My parents have a unique approach, like lasagna with Turkey to capture our “inner Italians”, and I smile knowing it is always a new experience with them.

So, it would appear that I have some time to kill. That’s ok, especially considering my computer ate my last blog post like a dog eating their owner’s homework. I look down at my feet where my dogs have curled up next to me and I am overwhelmed with gratitude for those two cold noses in my life. There are moments where I want to scream (and often do), like when Sunny jumps on my bed at 7am on a Saturday and won’t settle down until she has had her breakfast. Or, like the time Tyson jumped on the front seat of my car, which he wasn’t supposed to do anyway, and broke my brand new aviator sunglasses. But I can’t stay mad. These two have seen me through thick and thin and nothing in this world cheers me up more than those two being curled up beside me when I am having a bad day and cannot express how thankful I am that they are in my life.

In a few hours my cousin and my best friend will be here which reminds me of how amazing my family and friend support group is. They have always been there and always have my back even when I do something stupid. Ok, let’s be honest, I do a lot of stupid things which make me love them all so much more.

Once the family drama and turkey recipes are stripped away from this day, the only thing left is to be thankful for what we have and to share that with others. That’s really what it is all about anyway, right? Well, that and getting two days off of work. Just saying. Well, the dogs are pacing by the door and my coffee is ready so it looks like I am all wrapped up.

Happy Thanksgiving

One response to “Gratitude

  1. Nice. I like your use of first person present style. Sorry I did’nt get back to you earlier but don’t feel too bad now that I know your first post went to the cyber-graveyard.

    Aunt Chris and I are by ourselves for the entire holiday season this year. Very strange though it helps to know all of you are well and safe and fully stuffed.

    Keep us posted on your exploits. I’ll growl loudly if I think it’s required.

    Love you all…
    Big Bear

Leave a comment